Couch to 5k: Moving on

For the past lot of runs I’ve been feeling that the C25k plan is holding me back, so I’m going to ditch it. It’s a good training programme, but for me, it’s done its job – and that job was really to make running a habit once again.

The principle of it – basically to build it up gradually – is perfectly sound. I’ll keep doing that, but just tailor it more to my own needs.

I started off with a decent level of fitness from hiking: some people doing couch-to-5k have obstacles to overcome in terms of age, weight, and health that I just don’t, so I’m ready for a bit more. Not to denigrate people who find it tough, far from it! They’re to be admired all the more for it – the only thing I have to overcome is plain old laziness. Some people start the programme in their sixties, after heart surgery. That’s massively more impressive, no matter about paces, times or distances.

Saturday will be my first proper 5k, and I’m looking forward to it. So, what’s the gameplan?

Well, not much. Having plans is just a way to tempt fate. 😉

But, I’ve a vague figure of 35 mins in my head. I’d settle for that for a first time. And I’ll admit to a slight bit of vanity – I’d rather not finish last, or last in age category, but I don’t care that much.

It’s three laps, so if there is a plan it’s to run two, take a walking breather for a minute or two, then run to the finish.

But we’ll see. My main priority is just to enjoy it!

No doubt there’ll be a report and photos here at some stage over the weekend.

This entry was posted in couch-to-5k, parkrun, running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Couch to 5k: Moving on

  1. Good luck. Hope you enjoy your parkrun.

  2. Good luck! I tried the Couch to 5K once and didn’t like it. That’s why I’ve tried the running plan from the book I have (Runner’s World Complete Book to Women’s Running). It’s a little easier.

  3. lindaharley says:

    How did it go? My husband is hoping to start C25K soon – he’s one of those late-50s post heart surgery types!

    • I’d definitely recommend it! It’s a good gradual way to start, and it’s useful to have a structured plan, too, at least at first.
      The NHS site has lots of useful tips, articles and podcasts – http://www.nhs.uk/LiveWell/c25k/Pages/couch-to-5k.aspx .
      I didn’t use the podcasts – I found them a bit distracting – but some people rave about them. They even sound a bit cultish sometimes when they talk about “Laura” – the voice of the podcasts! 🙂

Leave a Reply

